European Council Decision 2009/908/EU established the order in which the Member States of the European Union exercise the Presidency of the Council from 1 January 2007 to 30 June 2020, including how the Presidency is divided into groups of three Member States.


However, the European Union was expanded with Croatia as a new Member State on 1 July 2013 and the United Kingdom has officially announced that it will be leaving the Union. Although the UK Government has not yet officially triggered Article 50 (TEU), the Council has altered the order of the Presidencies until the end of 2030. Originally, the UK was supposed to hold the Presidency in the second half of 2017; however, this would have coincided with negotiations for the UK’s exit. Consequently, the UK has been removed from the list of Presidencies which is published in the Official Journal.  


Official Journal L208 from 2 August 2016: