FKPH

Europe is networking

The focus of the conference: Securing healthcare and
social systems for the next generation

On October 28, 2020, the European representative from German Social Insurance (DSV) organised an online conference on two outstanding topics from the fields of healthcare and social policy. The invitation was accepted by high-ranking representatives from the EU institutions, the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs, the board of directors of the umbrella organisations of the German Social Insurance as well as industry – and almost 900 guests.


Two top panels discussed the topical issues of “Medicines and care for the future generation” and “Securing the self-employed during the coronavirus pandemic”.


The conference was held digitally in two locations - the European capital Brussels and the German capital Berlin. The event was moderated by journalist Conny Czymoch.


The Hessian State Secretary for European Affairs, Mark Weinmeister welcomed the participants who were connected virtually and formed a wide range: One of the most important issues is to bring younger generations together with the traditional and proven social security systems and to preserve this successful model for the future.


He stressed the relevance of social insurance in times of crisis and the role it has played since the introduction of statutory health insurance in 1883. Since then, the social insurance institutions have had to constantly respond to changing conditions, including the COVID-19 pandemic. The crisis has highlighted the social security problems as if they were seen through a magnifying glass.


The issue of medicinal supplies and strategic independence had already been of great importance before the start of the coronavirus pandemic. Finally, the availability of necessary medicines is a common concern for all Europeans. For the State of Hesse, the “pharmacy of the world” with a high industrial density, this also has economic implications.

Ilka Wölfle, Director of German Social Insurance’s European representation

“The pandemic has revealed a number of areas, where Europe needs to become more resilient.”


Ilka Wölfle, Director of the European representation, inaugurated the conference from the improvised television studio in the Representation of the State of Hessen to the European Union. Its focus was on the topic of the first panel discussion, “Medicines for future generations”: “The pandemic has revealed a number of areas, where Europe needs to become more resilient.” And: “however, should we want to produce our medicines only in Europe in the future, we must ask whether this is realistic with international division of labour.” Ilka Wölfle particularly emphasised the lack of medical devices and medicines, especially at the beginning of the pandemic, as well as future access to medicines and the avoidance of dependencies in the production of active pharmaceutical ingredients.

FKPH

Europa vernetzt sich

Im Fokus der Konferenz: Sicherung der Gesundheits- und ­
Sozialsysteme für die nächste Generation

Am 28. Oktober 2020 organisierte die Europavertretung der Deutschen Sozialversicherung (DSV) eine Online-Fachkonferenz zu zwei herausragenden Themen aus den Bereichen Gesundheits- und Sozialpolitik. Der Einladung folgten hochrangige Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus den EU-Institutionen, dem Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales, dem Vorstand der Spitzenorganisationen der ­Deutschen Sozialversicherung sowie auch der Industrie – und fast 900 Gäste.


Zwei Top-Panels diskutierten die ­aktuellen Themen „Arzneimittel und die Versorgung für die künftige Generation“ und die „Absicherung von Selbstständigen während der Corona-Pandemie“.


Die Konferenz fand digital an zwei Standorten statt – der europäischen Kapitale Brüssel und der deutschen Hauptstadt Berlin. Die Veranstaltung moderierte die Journalistin Conny Czymoch.


Der hessische Staatsekretär für Europaangelegenheiten, Mark Weinmeister, begrüßte die virtuell zugeschalteten Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer und spannte einen großen Bogen: Eine der wichtigsten Fragen sei, jüngere Generationen mit den traditionellen und bewährten sozialen Sicherungssystemen zusammenzubringen und dieses Erfolgsmodell für die Zukunft zu bewahren.


Er betonte die Relevanz der Sozial­versicherung in Krisenzeiten und die Rolle seit der Einführung der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung im Jahr 1883. Seither mussten die Sozialver­sicherungsträger laufend auf veränderte Rahmenbedingungen reagieren – so auch in der COVID-19-Pandemie. Die Krise habe ­Probleme der sozialen Absicherung wie in einem Brennglas herausgestellt. 


Die Frage der Arzneimittelversorgung und der strategischen Unabhängigkeit sei bereits vor Beginn der Corona-Pandemie von großer Bedeutung gewesen. Schließlich stelle die Verfügbarkeit von notwendigen Medikamenten ein gemeinsames Anliegen aller Europäerinnen und Europäer dar. Für das Land Hessen, die „Apotheke der Welt“ mit hoher Industriedichte, habe dies auch ökonomische Auswirkungen.

Ilka Wölfle, Direktorin der Europavertretung der Deutschen Sozialversicherung

„Die Pandemie hat eine Reihe von Bereichen aufgedeckt, in denen Europa widerstands­fähiger werden muss.“


Ilka Wölfle, Direktorin der Europavertretung, eröffnete die Konferenz aus dem improvisierten Fernsehstudio in der EU-Vertretung des Landes Hessen. Ihr inhaltlicher Fokus stand ganz im Zeichen des Themas der ersten Diskussionsrunde „Arzneimittel für kommende Generationen“: „Die Pandemie hat eine Reihe von Bereichen aufgedeckt, in denen Europa widerstandsfähiger werden muss.“ Und: „Sollten wir aber künftig unsere Medikamente nur noch in Europa produzieren wollen, müssen wir fragen, ob dies in einer internationalen Arbeitsteilung realistisch ist.“ Ilka Wölfle hob vor allem den Mangel an Medizinprodukten und Arzneimitteln gerade am Anfang der Pandemie sowie den künftigen Zugang zu Arzneimitteln und die Vermeidung von Abhängigkeiten bei der Wirkstoffherstellung hervor.