Panel 1: More supply reliability through strategic independence?

The German SPD MEP Tiemo Wölken drew fundamental lines in his keynote speech: “Universal access to quality healthcare at an affordable cost for individuals and society is not only a fundamental need, it is one of the common values and principles in the EU and it is enshrined in the Charter of Basic Human Rights.” This also includes the supply of medicines. The COVID-19 pandemic shows that the EU needs to become more resilient in crisis situations. In particular, at the beginning of the pandemic major efforts were made to ensure coordinated action between member states. Temporary border closures and export bans or national stockpiling of medical supplies – these posed risks to EU-wide access to medicines and medical care.


This situation has highlighted the dependence on functioning supply chains. These extended beyond EU borders. Often, there is dependence on singular production sites in third countries. Wölken critically questioned whether the idea of bringing production back to Europe was a realistic scenario and the solution. Instead, he sees the legislator as having a responsibility to make the EU more attractive as a production location. 

FKPHTiemo Wölken, Member of the European Parliament

“Universal access to quality healthcare at an affordable cost for individuals and society is not only a fundamental need, it is one of the common values and principles in the EU and it is enshrined in the Charter of Basic Human Rights.”


Transparency in supply chains and diversification of production sites for supply reliability of medicines in the EU


Dr Doris Pfeiffer, Chairwoman of the Board of the National Association of Statutory Health Insurance Funds, shared the view that the member states must act with more solidarity in the distribution of medical goods. “Personal protective equipment are not high-tech products. Here, we must achieve adequate production capacities in Europe. A situation, where people around the world buy former penny products from each other at top prices must not be allowed to recur.”


The German healthcare system would also have to adapt to the new framework conditions. It was important that the systems in Europe remained functional and financially viable. This also applies to the supply of medicines. Inequalities in accessing the supply of medicines should be reduced.


Pfeiffer’s main concern was to achieve transparency of the production and supply chains of essential medicines. This is the only way to identify production problems that affect the supply situation in Europe. The diversification of production sites also plays a key role in this respect.

Dr Doris Pfeiffer, Chairwoman of the Executive Board of the National Association of Statutory Health Insurance Funds

“In Europe, we need more transparency regarding the production and distribution of medicines.”


Solidarity and cooperation to protect public health in the EU


Together, we are strong. This is the EC’s guiding principle during the crisis. Sylvain Giraud, Head of the Medical Devices Unit from the Directorate General for Health highlighted: “We need to strengthen the coordination of member states’ authorities in crisis situations. The EC will propose to strengthen the capacities of the ECDC and EMA agencies.” The member states, on the one hand, acted in a fragmented and initially uncoordinated manner due to different national requirements and precon­ditions. In future, the agreement between member states from Helsinki to Lisbon and the EU’s institutions must play a more important role.


The EC sees three areas for action: Firstly, the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) and the European Medicines Agency (EMA) should be given central functions and tasks in crisis management. Legislative proposals were published in autumn 2020. The EC also intends to establish an agency for advanced biomedical research and development, following the example of the US Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA). The legislative text is expected in 2021.


Secondly, functioning systems with adequate insurance cover provide social security and ensured economic prosperity as well as social cohesion. The prerequisite for this is that the social security systems are resilient in crisis situations such as this.


The third element is availability and supply reliability, as well as ensuring that all EU citizens have access to medicines. Bottlenecks could be of a structural nature, for example based on insufficient national legislation. 

FKPHSylvain Giraud, Head of the Medical Devices Unit at the European Commission

”The crisis shows how important health systems, health coverage in­surance and social protection are as a basis for economic prosperity and social cohesion.“


Europe as a location - financial viability and attractiveness of the framework conditions


More Europe - this was also the headline of the Austrian SPÖ (Social Democratic Party of Austria) MEP Dr Günther Sidl’s statement.


The crisis had shown that member states with good healthcare and social welfare systems had so far come through the crisis better. “A stronger preventive approach must be implemented in European legislation.” Therefore, now is not the time for discussions about liberalisation and privatisation of healthcare systems.


With regard to the discussion about the attractiveness of locations for manufacturers, not only production conditions but also research and development should be considered. 

FKPHDr Günther Sidl, Member of the European Parliament

“A stronger precautionary approach needs to be implemented in European legislation.” 


Greater transparency of the provision of care will make it possible to gear care and innovation more closely to the actual benefits for patients in Europe


Nathalie Moll,Director of the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations, draws many lessons from the crisis. The main focus of the industry is on preparedness planning for critical medicines. Manufacturers have been busy with this since December 2019 to be able to meet the demand.


She also spoke out in favour of more transparency and information on the existing needs. “Increased capacity to monitor and assess national and regional health needs reinforces European solidarity.” Until now, it has often been unclear which medicines can be demanded by member states as well as when, where and in what quantities.


The industry sees key areas of action in the need for more European solidarity and joint capacities to solve cross-border health risks in a cooperative manner. The ecosystem for research and development must also be made sustainable. This cannot be switched on or off at the push of a button. A large proportion of innovative medicines (77 per cent) would continue to be produced in Europe. In any case, the industry is in a position to significantly increase the production of individual medicines in a pandemic situation. 

FKPHNatalie Moll, Director of the European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations

”European solidarity needs reinforced ­capacity in monitor­ing and assessing national and ­regional health care needs.“

Panel 1: Mehr Versorgungssicherheit durch strategische Unabhängigkeit?

Der deutsche SPD-Europaabgeordnete Tiemo Wölken zog in seinem Impulsreferat grundsätzliche Linien: „Ein universeller Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertiger Gesundheitsversorgung zu erschwinglichen Kosten für den Einzelnen und die Gesellschaft ist nicht nur ein Grundbedürfnis, es gehört zu den gemeinsamen Werten und Grundsätzen in der Europäischen Union – verankert in der Grundrechtecharta.“ Dazu zähle auch die Versorgung mit Arzneimitteln. Die COVID-19-Pandemie zeige, dass die EU in Krisensituationen widerstandsfähiger werden müsse. Insbesondere zu Beginn der Pandemie wurden große Anstrengungen für ein koordiniertes Handeln zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten unternommen. Temporäre Schließungen der Grenzen und Ausfuhrstopps oder die nationale Bevorratung medizinischer Versorgungsgüter – dies berge Risiken im EU-weiten Zugang zu Arz­neimitteln und für die medizinische ­Versorgung.


Diese Situation habe die Abhängigkeit von funktionierenden Lieferketten vor Augen geführt. Diese reichten über die EU-Grenzen hinaus. Häufig bestünden Abhängigkeiten von singulären Produktionsstätten in Drittstaaten. Wölken hinterfragte kritisch, ob eine Rückholung der Produktion nach Europa ein realistisches Szenario und die Lösung darstelle. Vielmehr sehe er den Gesetzgeber in der Verantwortung, die EU als Produktionsstandort attraktiver zu gestalten.

FKPHTiemo Wölken, Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments

„Ein universeller Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertiger Gesundheits­versorgung zu erschwinglichen Kosten für den Einzelnen und die Gesellschaft ist nicht nur ein Grundbedürfnis, es gehört zu den gemein­samen Werten und Grundsätzen in der Euro­päischen Union – verankert in der Grundrechtecharta.“


Transparenz in den Lieferketten und -Diversifizierung der Produktionsstandorte für Versorgungssicherheit mit Arzneimittelnin der EU


Dr. Doris Pfeiffer, Vorstandsvorsitzende des GKV-Spitzenverbandes, teilte die Auffassung, dass die Mitgliedstaaten in Verteilungsfragen medizinischer Güter solidarischer agieren müssen. „Persönliche Schutzausrüstung sind keine Hightech-Produkte. Hier müssen wir zu ausreichenden Produktionskapazitäten in Europa kommen. Eine Situation, in der man sich weltweit ehemalige Pfennigprodukte zu Höchstpreisen gegenseitig weg kauft, darf nicht wieder eintreten.“


Auch das deutsche Gesundheitswesen müsse sich an die neuen Rahmenbedingungen anpassen. Wichtig sei, dass die Systeme in Europa funktionsfähig und finanzierbar blieben. Dies treffe auch auf die Ver­sorgung mit Arzneimitteln zu. Ungleichheiten im Zugang zur ­Versorgung mit Arzneimitteln müssten ab­­gebaut ­werden. 


Pfeiffers Hauptanliegen war es, Transparenz über die Produktion und Lieferketten von essenziellen Arznei­mitteln herzustellen. Nur so könne man die Probleme in der ­Produktion, welche sich auf die Versorgungssituation in Europa auswirken, identifizieren. Auch die Diversifizierung von Produktionsstandorten spiele hierbei eine tragende Rolle. 

Dr. Doris Pfeiffer, Vorstandsvorsitzende des GKV-Spitzenverbandes

„In Europa benötigen wir mehr Transparenz über die Produktion und Verteilung von Arzneimitteln.“


Solidarität und Kooperation zum Schutz der öffentlichen Gesundheit in der EU


Gemeinsam sind wir stark. Das ist die Leitlinie der Europäischen Kommission in der Krise. Sylvain Giraud, Leiter der Abteilung Medizinprodukte aus der Generaldirektion Gesundheit hob hervor: „Wir müssen die Koordinierung der Behörden der Mitgliedstaaten in Krisensituationen stärken. Die EU-Kommission wird vorschlagen, die Kapazitäten der Agenturen ECDC und EMA auszubauen.“ Die Mitglied­staaten hätten einerseits fragmentiert und aufgrund unterschiedlicher nationaler Vorgaben und Voraussetzungen zunächst unkoordiniert agiert. Zukünftig müsse die ­Absprache von Helsinki nach Lissabon sowie den Institutionen der Europäischen Union eine bedeutendere Rolle spielen.


Die Europäische Kommission sieht drei Handlungsfelder: Erstens sollte das Zentrum für die Prävention und die Kon­trolle von Krankheiten (ECDC) und die Europäische Arzneimittel-Agentur Arzneimittelagentur (EMA) mit zen­tralen Funktionen und Aufgaben der Krisenbewältigung ausgestattet werden. Hierzu wurden im Herbst 2020 Legislativvorschläge veröffentlicht. Die Europäische Kommission beabsichtigt darüber hinaus die Gründung einer Agentur für fortgeschrittene biomedizinische Forschung und Entwicklung am Beispiel der US-amerikanischen Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA). Der Legislativtext wird für 2021 erwartet.


Zweitens sorgten funktionierende Systeme mit ausreichendem Versicherungsschutz für eine gesellschaftliche Sicherheit und sicherten ökonomischen Wohlstand sowie den sozialen Zusammenhalt. Voraussetzung sei dabei, dass die sozialen Sicherungssysteme in Krisensituationen wie ­dieser widerstandsfähig aufgestellt seien.


Als drittes Element sei die Verfügbarkeit und Liefersicherheit sowie die Sicherstellung des Zugangs für alle EU-Bürgerinnen und Bürger zu Arzneimitteln entscheidend. Engpässe könnten struktureller Natur sein, zum Beispiel auf Basis ungenügender nationaler Gesetzgebung. 

FKPHSylvain Giraud, Leiter der Abteilung Medizinprodukte in der Europäischen Kommission

”The crisis shows how important health systems, health coverage in­surance and social protection are as a basis for economic prosperity and social cohesion.“


Standortfrage Europa – Finanzierbarkeit und -Attraktivität der Rahmenbedingungen


Mehr Europa – unter diese Überschrift stellte auch der österreichische SPÖ-Europaabgeordnete Dr. Günther Sidl sein Statement. 


Die Krise habe gezeigt, dass Mitgliedstaaten mit guten Gesundheits- und Sozialsystemen bislang besser durch die Krise gekommen seien. „Ein stärkeres Vorsorgedenken muss in europäische Gesetzgebung implementiert werden.“ Daher sei auch jetzt nicht die Zeit für Diskussionen um Liberalisierung und Privatisierung von Gesundheitssystemen.

 

Mit Blick auf die Diskussion um die Attraktivität von Standorten für Hersteller sollte nicht nur an Produktionsbedingungen, sondern auch an die Forschung und Entwicklung gedacht werden. 

FKPHDr. Günther Sidl, Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments

„Ein stärkeres Vorsorge­denken muss in die  europäische Gesetzgebung implementiert ­werden.“ 


Mehr Transparenz über das Versorgungsgeschehen erlaubt, die Versorgung und Innovation stärker am tatsächlichen Nutzen für Patientinnen und Patienten in Europa auszurichten


Nathalie Moll,Direktorin der European Federation of ­Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations, zieht viele Lehren aus der Krise. Das Hauptaugenmerk der Industrie liege bei einer Bereitschaftsplanung für kritische Arznei­mittel. Damit sind die Hersteller seit Dezember 2019 be­­schäftigt, um der Nachfrage gerecht werden zu können.


Auch sie sprach sich für mehr Transparenz und Informationen darüber aus, welcher Bedarf bestehe. „Verstärkte Kapazitäten zur Überwachung und Bewertung des ­natio­nalen und regionalen Gesundheitsbedarfs stärken die europäische Solidarität.“ Bislang sei oft unklar, ­welches Arzneimittel, wann, wo und in welcher Menge von ­Mitgliedstaaten nachgefragt werden kann. 


Zentrale Handlungsfelder sehe die Industrie darin, dass mehr europäische Solidarität und gemeinsame Kapazitäten benötigt würden, um grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsgefahren kooperativ zu lösen. Auch das Ökosystem für Forschung und Entwicklung müsse nachhaltig gestaltet werden. Dieses lasse sich nicht auf Knopfdruck ein- oder ausschalten. Ein Großteil innovativer ­Arzneimittel (77 ­Prozent) würde weiterhin in Europa produziert. Die Industrie sei jedenfalls in der Lage, die Produktion einzelner Arz­neimittel in einer Pandemiesituation deutlich zu erhöhen. 

FKPHNatalie Moll, Direktorin der European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations

“European solidarity needs reinforced capacity in monitoring and assessing national and regional healthcare needs.”