PHOTOMORPHIC PTE. LTD.

Will the exception become the norm?

The ‘traditional employment relationship’ still seems to be standard for most people, where the worker is dependent on being employed by the employer. However, the omnipresence of business models such as Deliveroo, Uber, Airbnb and similar platforms suggest that a significant proportion of new internet-based forms of employment involve non-standard employment or solo self-employment (self-employed without employees). Do we have to get used to the fact that non-standard forms of employment are becoming the norm? 

 

Actually, it seems that the number of workers in non-standard employment and solo self-employment as a percentage of total workers has not really changed. According to a report from the European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions (Eurofound), the number of temporary contract workers as a percentage of all workers in Europe has remained relatively stable at 14.5% in 2006 and 14.2% in 2016.1 The situation in Germany has also remained the same with about one fifth (20.7%) of workers in non-standard employment.2 

 

According to Eurofound, the percentage of self-employed workers in Europe has remained comparatively stable since 2002.* However, the proportion of self-employed persons without staff (known as solo self-­employed or own account workers) has increased over the same period. In total, 25% of all self-employed persons (around 8 million people) are solo self-employed and in a precarious situation in the EU 28. 


The global nature of such platforms and comparatively low costs, including staff costs, mean that these business models are quite attractive. Another reason for the economic success of platforms, and the reason for such growth in this sector, is the ability to utilise user data. This data can be used to draw conclusions on user behaviour and serve up targeted offers. A comparison between the platform economy and German industrial companies, in terms of turnover, profit, staff and market capitalisation, shows that in the five years between 2012 and 2016, digital companies grew much faster than the traditional companies.3

PHOTOMORPHIC PTE. LTD.

Wird die Ausnahme zum Normalfall?

Nach wie vor scheint das „klassische Arbeitsverhältnis“ für die meisten der Regelfall zu sein: Der Arbeitnehmer ist vom Arbeitgeber abhängig beschäftigt. Die Allgegenwärtigkeit neuer Geschäfts­modelle wie Deliveroo, Uber, Airbnb und ähnlicher Plattformen legt die Annahme nahe, dass bereits heute ein signifikanter Teil der neuen Internet-basierten Erwerbsformen in Form von atypischer Beschäftigung und Solo-Selbstständigkeit erbracht wird. Müssen wir uns deswegen darauf einstellen, dass atypische Beschäftigungs­formen zum Normalfall werden?  

 

Tatsächlich scheint der Anteil atypi­scher Beschäftigung und von Solo-Selbst­ständigkeit an der Gesamtzahl der Erwerbstätigen derzeit noch unverändert zu sein. Nach einem Bericht der Europäischen Stiftung zur Verbesserung der Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen (Eurofound) ist der Anteil der befristet Beschäftigten an der Gesamtzahl aller Beschäftigten in Europa relativ konstant geblieben, mit einem Anteil 14,5 % im Jahr 2006 und 14,2 % im Jahr 2016.1 Auch in Deutschland liegt der Anteil der Erwerbstätigen, die einer atypischen Beschäftigung nachgehen, unverändert bei etwa einem Fünftel (20,7 %) der Erwerbstätigen.2 

 

Den Anteil der Selbstständigen an den Erwerbstätigen in Europa sieht Eurofound seit 2002 als vergleichsweise stabil.* Der Anteil der Selbstständigen ohne Mitarbeiter, insbesondere der Selbstständigen in Teilzeit, hat sich im gleichen Zeitraum hingegen erhöht. Insgesamt wird festgestellt, dass 25 % aller Selbstständigen, d. h. 8 ­Millionen Menschen, in der EU-28 als Solo-Selbstständige unter prekären Umständen tätig sind.


Die globale Ausrichtung einer ­solchen Plattform durch den Betreiber und vergleichsweise geringe Kosten – inkl. der Personalkosten – machen diese Geschäftsmodelle attraktiv. Ein weiterer Faktor für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg von Plattformen und damit ein Anwachsen des Sektors ist der Umgang mit Nutzerdaten: Aus ihnen lassen sich Rückschlüsse auf das Verhalten der Nutzer ziehen, die mit gezielten Angeboten bedient werden können. Ein Vergleich zwischen Plattform­ökonomie und deutschen Industrie­unternehmen, bezogen auf Umsatz, Gewinn, Beschäftigte sowie Marktkapitalisierung, zeigt, dass die digitalen Unternehmen innerhalb von fünf Jahren (2012–2016) rasanter gewachsen sind als die einstmals analog gegründeten Unternehmen.*