©pressmaster - stock.adobe.com

People with disabilities
in the COVID-19 crisis 

Intro

Social isolation, difficult access to social services and care, a lack of accessible information and a higher risk of developing more severe cases of COVID-19 are a few examples that show that people with disabilities are particularly affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

 

In addition to social and health impacts, the economic consequences are also disproportionately high. Experts fear that people with disabilities are at higher risk of losing their jobs. In Germany, the number of severely disabled people registered as unemployed with the Federal Employment Agency, for example, rose from 157,523 in March to 175,188 in July 2020. This was 20,638 more people than in the same month last year (July 2019).1


Because of the difficulty of finding a job in the mainstream labour market, those affected are often left with only a job from the informal sector. This excludes them from contributory social insurance schemes and, in times of coronavirus, often from state aid measures designed to compensate for loss of income. For those, who are employed, the lack of equipment or personnel support available at the workplace may make it difficult to work from the home office, further increasing the risk of job and income loss. Those, who worked in workshops have been affected by the closures of the facilities. This has had a negative impact on their pay, which is often dependent on the income generated by the workshops. Ultimately, against the background of higher expenditure, for example for barrier-free housing, aids and necessary services, even the indirect impact of COVID-19 measures increases the risk of poverty for people with disabilities, in particular when the income of family members and thus, the total income of the household, decreases.


Measures and policy recommendations
 

 

A number of international organisations have called for the involvement of people with disabilities in the response to the crisis. In May 2020, the Secretary-General of the United Nations, António Guterres, called on governments to put people with disabilities at the centre of measures to respond to the COVID-19 crisis. On 18 May 2020, 138 countries, including the EU and its Member States, signed a common declaration for an inclusive response to COVID-19 that takes into consideration people with disabilities.


The ILO is calling for people with disabilities to be included in all stages of the response to the pandemic.2 In addition to immediate assistance, such as maintaining personal support and participation in the workplace, this involves, in particular participation in planning, the allocation of financial resources and employment promotion programmes, as well as ensuring inclusive labour markets and adequate social security that supports employment and economic independence. Benefits are often based on the assumption of ‘incapacity to work’, which reinforces prejudice and creates disincentives to seek work. Measures in response to the crisis should not perpetuate these misplaced incentives.


The European Parliament, in its resolution on the new EU strategy for people with disabilities after 2020, also called for the lessons of the COVID-19 pandemic to be taken into account.3 The measures taken by the Member States should be analysed and reviewed for gaps. It had already previously called for the inclusion of people with disabilities in all income protection measures.4


The first measures taken by Member States in response to the pandemic were short-term assistance packages. A one-off payment of 70 million euros has been made to the integration offices in Germany for workshops, where people with disabilities work to compensate for lost earnings. For the months from June to August 2020, an “interim aid for small and medium-sized enterprises that have had to cease business operations completely, or to a significant extent, during the course of the coronavirus crisis” scheme was launched. This scheme will also benefit inclusive companies. For the months from April to June, Austria has temporarily increased the job security subsidy granted to employed people with disabilities by up to 50 per cent. The self-employed were given the existing bridging allowance of 267 euros per month, which can be granted, in the event of a disability-related need, even without providing proof. 

 


©industryview – iStockphotoVarious measures for people with disabilities are intended to secure jobs.

Lessons learnt? 


Even before the crisis, it was more difficult for people with disabilities to find employment with appropriate conditions and adequate pay. In the EU, only 50.6 per cent of people with disabilities are employed, compared to 74.8 per cent of people without disabilities.6 

The European Parliament is calling for an ambitious post-2020 EU strategy with clear and measurable targets, including a list of planned actions with a clear time frame and resources, among others, in the areas of participation, independent living, employment and training. Member States are also being called upon to develop and better implement measures to promote the participation of people with disabilities in the labour market. Those, who work in sheltered workshops should be recognised as workers within the meaning of the law and it should be ensured that they are entitled to the same social security benefits as other workers.

 

It is still too early to assess whether measures taken, or to be taken, actually take account of the experts’ recommendations, in other words, reduce the risk of poverty faced by people with disabilities and contribute to a more inclusive labour market. The policy recommendations on employment and social security for people with disabilities, however, are largely ‘already known ones’. Despite all the technical progress and political demands, statistics on the creation of inclusive labour markets have hardly changed in the last 20 years. Only about 50 per cent of job seekers with disabilities get a job. Measures with measurable targets and a clear time frame, as proposed by the European Parliament could help reduce the gap between policy recommendations and reality.7

©pressmaster - stock.adobe.com

Menschen mit Behinderungen
in der COVID-19-Krise 

Soziale Isolation, erschwerte Inanspruchnahme sozialer Dienste und Pflege, ein Mangel an zugänglichen Informationen und ein höheres Risiko, schwerere Fälle einer COVID-19-Erkrankung zu entwickeln, sind einige wenige Beispiele, die zeigen, dass Menschen mit Behinderungen in besonderem Maße von der COVID-19-Pandemie betroffen sind. 


Neben sozialen und gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen treffen sie auch die wirtschaftlichen Folgen überproportional. Expertinnen und Experten fürchten, dass für Menschen mit Behinderungen ein höheres Risiko besteht, ihre Beschäftigung zu verlieren. In Deutschland ist die Zahl der bei der Bundesagentur für Arbeit arbeitslos gemeldeten schwerbehinderten Menschen beispielsweise von einhundertsiebenundfünfzigtausend fünfhundertdreiundzwanzig im März auf einhundertfünfundsiebzigtausend einhundertachtundachtzig im Juli 2020 angewachsen. Das waren zwanzigtausendsechshundertachtunddreißig Menschen mehr als im Vorjahresmonat (Juli 2019).


Wegen der Schwierigkeit, einen Arbeitsplatz im regulären Arbeitsmarkt zu finden, bleibt den Betroffenen häufig nur eine Beschäftigung im informellen Sektor. Dies schließt sie von beitragsfinanzierten Sozialversicherungssystemen und in Zeiten von Corona häufig auch von staatlichen Hilfsmaßnahmen, die Einkommensverluste ausgleichen sollen, aus. Für diejenigen, die erwerbstätig sind, können sich aufgrund des Fehlens von Ausstattung oder personeller Unterstützung, die am Arbeitsplatz verfügbar wären, Probleme ergeben, im Homeoffice zu arbeiten, wodurch sich das Risiko des Arbeitsplatz- und Einkommensverlustes weiter erhöht. Diejenigen, die in Werkstätten arbeiten, waren von den Schließungen der Einrichtungen betroffen. Dies hatte negativen Auswirkungen auf ihr Arbeitsentgelt, das häufig von den durch die Werkstätten erzielten Einnahmen abhängt. Letztlich kann vor dem Hintergrund höherer Ausgaben, zum Beispiel für barrierefreies Wohnen, Hilfsmittel und notwendige Dienstleistungen, auch die indirekte Betroffenheit von COVID-19-Maßnahmen das Armutsrisiko von Menschen mit Behinderungen erhöhen, nämlich dann, wenn sich das Einkommen von Familienangehörigen und damit das Gesamteinkommen des Haushalts verringert.

 

Maßnahmen und Politik-Empfehlungen

 

Eine Reihe internationaler Organisationen haben bereits früh gefordert, Menschen mit Behinderungen in die Reaktionen auf die Krise einzubeziehen. Der Generalssekretär der Vereinten Nationen, António Guterres, hatte im Mai 2020 die Regierungen aufgefordert, Menschen mit Behinderungen in den Mittelpunkt der Maßnahmen in Reaktion auf die COVID-19-Krise zu stellen. 138 Staaten, darunter auch die EU und ihre Mitgliedstaaten, haben am 18. Mai 2020 eine gemeinsame Erklärung für eine inklusive, Menschen mit Behinderungen einbeziehende Reaktion auf COVID-19 unterzeichnet.

 

Die IAO fordert, Menschen mit Behinderungen in allen Phasen der Reaktion auf die Pandemie einzubeziehen.2 Neben sofortige Hilfen, wie die Aufrechterhaltung persönlicher Unterstützung und die Teilhabe am Arbeitsplatz, geht es insbesondere um die Beteiligung bei der Planung, der Zuweisung finanzieller Ressourcen und bei Programmen der Beschäftigungsförderung sowie der Gewährleistung inklusiver Arbeitsmärkte und eines angemessenen Sozialschutzes, der die Berufstätigkeit und wirtschaftliche Unabhängigkeit unterstützt. Leistungen würden häufig auf der Annahme einer „Arbeitsunfähigkeit“ basieren, was Vorurteile verstärke und negative Anreize für die Arbeitssuche schaffe. Maßnahmen in Reaktion auf die Krise sollten diese Fehlanreize nicht fortführen. 


Auch das Europäische Parlament hat in seiner Entschließung zur neuen EU-Strategie zugunsten von Menschen mit Behinderungen für die Zeit nach 2020 gefordert, die Lehren aus der COVID-19-Pandemie zu berücksichtigen.3 Die von den Mitgliedstaaten ergriffenen Maßnahmen sollen analysiert und auf Lücken überprüft werden. Bereits zuvor hatte es gefordert, Menschen mit Behinderungen in alle Einkommensschutzmaßnahmen einzubeziehen.4

 

Erste Maßnahmen der Mitgliedstaaten in Reaktion auf die Pandemie beziehen sich auf kurzfristige Hilfspakete. So wurden den Integrationsämtern in Deutschland einmalig 70 Millionen Euro für Werkstätten zur Verfügung gestellt, in denen Menschen mit Behinderungen arbeiten, um Verdienstausfälle zu kompensieren. Für die Monate Juni bis August 2020 wurde ein Programm „Überbrückungshilfe für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen, die ihren Geschäftsbetrieb im Zuge der Corona-Krise vollständig oder zu wesentlichen Teilen einstellen mussten“ verabschiedet, von dem auch Inklusionsbetriebe profitieren sollen. Österreich hat kurzfristig für die Monate April bis Juni den für angestellte Menschen mit Behinderung gewährten Arbeitsplatzsicherungszuschuss um bis zu 50 Prozent erhöht. Selbständigen wurde der bestehende Überbrückungszuschuss in Höhe von 267 Euro pro Monat, der bei einem behinderungsbedingten Bedarf gewährt werden kann, auch ohne diesen Nachweis zur Verfügung gestellt.5 


©industryview – iStockphotoUnterschiedliche Maßnahmen für Menschen mit Behinderungen sollen die Arbeitsplätze sichern.

Lessons learnt?

 

Bereits vor der Krise war es für Menschen mit Behinderungen schwieriger, eine Beschäftigung mit angemessenen Bedingungen und adäquater Entlohnung zu finden. In der EU sind nur 50,6 Prozent der Menschen mit Behinderungen beschäftigt, verglichen mit 74,8 Prozent der Menschen ohne Behinderung.6 

Das Europäische Parlament fordert eine ambitionierte EU-Strategie für die Zeit nach 2020, die eindeutige und messbaren Zielvorgaben beinhalten soll, einschließlich einer Liste geplanter Maßnahmen mit einem klaren Zeitrahmen und den vorgesehenen Ressourcen, unter anderen in den Bereichen Teilhabe, unabhängige Lebensführung, Beschäftigung und Ausbildung. Auch die Mitgliedstaaten sollen in die Pflicht genommen werden, um Maßnahmen zur Förderung der Teilhabe von Menschen mit Behinderungen am Arbeitsmarkt weiterzuentwickeln und besser umzusetzen. Diejenigen, die in geschützten Werkstätten arbeiten, sollen als Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer im Sinne des Gesetzes anerkannt und es soll sichergestellt werden, dass sie Anspruch auf denselben sozialen Schutz wie andere Arbeitnehmer haben.

 

Für eine Beurteilung, ob ergriffene oder zu ergreifende Maßnahmen tatsächlich den Empfehlungen der Expertinnen und Experten Rechnung tragen, das heißt das Armutsrisiko von Menschen mit Behinderungen verringern und zu inklusiveren Arbeitsmärkten beitragen, ist es noch zu früh. Bei den Politik-Empfehlungen im Hinblick auf die Beschäftigung und soziale Absicherung von Menschen mit Behinderungen handelt es sich jedoch weitgehend um „alte Bekannte“. Trotz allen technischen Fortschritts und aller politischen Forderungen haben sich die Statistiken zum Aufbau inklusiver Arbeitsmärkte in den letzten 20 Jahren kaum verändert. Nur etwa 50 Prozent der Menschen mit Behinderungen, die arbeiten möchten, haben einen Arbeitsplatz. Maßnahmen mit messbaren Zielvorgaben und einem klaren Zeitrahmen, wie vom Europäischen Parlament vorgeschlagen, könnten einen Beitrag dazu leisten, die Lücke zwischen Politikempfehlungen und Realität zu verkleinern.7