©detailblick-foto - stock.adobe.com

Legal or factual options

cal compulsory insurance of self-employed persons, there is a de facto, or sometimes even legal, possibility of opting out. In Finland, it is compulsory for the self-employed to take out insurance in the statutory health and pension insurance schemes. However, this only applies if they carried out an activity as a self-employed person for more than four consecutive months in the previous year, a condition which is unlikely to be met by platform workers and which, in practice, often goes hand in hand with income not being registered in the social security system. Together with very high entry thresholds, this means that a large proportion of the self-employed are not protected against loss of income (due to old age, illness, unemployment).


The opt-out in Estonia has more legal certainty. Although self-employed persons are obliged to take out comprehensive insurance in the statutory system and pay a ‘social tax’ of 33 %, this is not necessary if a person only occasionally earns an income through self-employment. There is no legal definition for this; self-employed workers can decide for themselves if they belong to this category. This choice is particularly interesting for platform workers. In addition, the person concerned may choose to register themselves as an ‘entrepreneur’, that is, to found their own company. In this situation, self-employed persons can hire themselves (they then pay the 33 % social tax as well as contributions to statutory unemployment insurance) or they can decide against this and then they only have to pay income tax on their earnings (dividends).


Poland is also worth mentioning here. Although health, pension and accident insurance are mandatory for self-employed persons, they have the option – unlike dependent employees – to make a flatrate contribution of € 200 per month instead of income-related contributions. This option is taken up by nearly all self-employed persons. This naturally has an effect on their entitlements, for example, how much pension they receive after they retire.

Special rules for platform work

Recently, new sub-categories of self-employment have been created specifically for platform work, which in some cases have significant consequences for social protection. In Belgium, under certain conditions, platform workers – but not other self-employed workers – have to pass a considerable minimum threshold before they become insured.

©rcfotostock - stock.adobe.comSometimes one piggy bank gets filled upwhile the other one remains empty

In France, platform workers must take out compulsory insurance in specific branches of social security, for example, statutory pension schemes. This even applies, under certain circumstances, to renting out private homes as temporary holiday accommodation via a platform such as Airbnb. The providers of this accommodation, and only they and not other platform workers or self-employed persons, may choose between the status as self-employed person or employee for the purposes of social security. Special rules for platform workers also apply to accident insurance. Like all other self-employed persons, they do not have access to statutory accident insurance, not even on a voluntary basis. They can, however, take out private accident insurance. In this case, the platform operator must bear the costs of the insurance if certain conditions are met. This is the case when the platform determines the terms and price of services, such as Uber or Deliveroo.

©detailblick-foto - stock.adobe.com

Rechtliche oder tatsächliche Wahlmöglichkeiten

In manchen Ländern besteht trotz einer theoretisch erst einmal gegebenen Pflichtversicherung als Selbstständiger faktisch oder sogar rechtlich die Möglichkeit eines „Opt-out“. In Finnland besteht für Selbstständige zwar die Pflicht, sich in der gesetzlichen Kranken- und Rentenversicherung zu versichern. Dies gilt allerdings nur, falls sie im vergangenen Jahr mehr als vier Monate lang ununterbrochen eine Erwerbstätigkeit als Selbstständiger ausgeübt haben – eine Bedingung, deren Erfüllung bei Plattform-Arbeitern zumindest zweifelhaft ist und in der Praxis offenbar oft mit einer Nicht-Anmeldung der Einkünfte in der Sozialversicherung einhergeht. Zusammen mit den sehr hohen Eingangsschwellen führt dies dazu, dass ein großer Teil selbstständiger Erwerbstätigkeit nicht gegen den Einkommensverlust abgesichert ist (Alter, Krankheit, Arbeitslosigkeit). 


Mit mehr Rechtssicherheit gelingt das „Opt-out“ in Estland. Zwar besteht dort auch für Selbstständige die Pflicht, sich umfassend in den gesetzlichen Systemen zu versichern und hierfür eine „Sozialsteuer“ in Höhe von 33 % abzuführen. Dies ist jedoch nicht der Fall, wenn sie als Selbstständige nur „gelegentlich“ Einkommen beziehen. Eine gesetzliche Definition hierfür gibt es nicht; der Selbstständige kann selbst entscheiden, ob er zu dieser Kategorie gehört. Dieses Wahlrecht ist in der Praxis besonders interessant für Plattform-Arbeiter. Außerdem kann sich der Betroffene dafür entscheiden, sein Gewerbe als Unternehmen zu registrieren, d. h. eine eigene Gesellschaft zu gründen. In diesem Fall kann er sich selbst einstellen (und zahlt dann die 33 % Sozialsteuer sowie zusätzlich Beiträge zur Arbeitslosenversicherung), oder er lässt dies sein – dann muss er nur Einkommenssteuer auf die Erträge (Dividenden) zahlen.  

   

Auch Polen ist in diesem Zusammenhang zu erwähnen. Zwar ist Pflichtversicherung in der Kranken-, Renten- und Unfallversicherung auch für Selbstständige obligatorisch. Allerdings haben die Selbstständigen – anders als die Beschäftigten – die Möglichkeit, anstelle von einkommensabhängigen Beiträgen sich für die Zahlung eines pauschalen Mini-Beitrags in Höhe von ca. 200 Euro im Monat zu entscheiden – was fast alle Betroffenen auch tun. Dies wirkt sich natürlich z. B. auf die Höhe der späteren Rente aus.

Sonderregeln gezielt für Plattform-Arbeit

Es wurden in jüngster Zeit ganz gezielt für Plattform-Arbeit neue Unter-Kategorien von selbstständiger Erwerbsarbeit geschaffen, die mit zum Teil erheblichen Konsequenzen für den Sozialschutz einhergehen. So gilt in Belgien unter bestimmten Bedingungen für Plattform-Arbeiter – aber nicht für die übrigen Selbstständigen – eine durchaus beachtliche Geringfügigkeitsschwelle.

©rcfotostock - stock.adobe.comManchmal wird nur ein Sparschwein gefüllt,während das andere leer bleibt

In Frankreich sind Plattform-Arbeiter in bestimmten Zweigen, z. B. in der gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung, pflichtversichert. Dies gilt sogar unter bestimmten Umständen für plattformbasierte vorübergehende Vermietung von privat genutztem Wohnraum als Feriendomizil, etwa über Airbnb. Die Anbieter – und nur sie und nicht die übrigen Plattform-Arbeiter oder gar Selbstständigen – dürfen aber für die Zwecke der Sozialversicherung zwischen dem Status als Selbstständiger und dem als Arbeitnehmer wählen. Sonderregeln für Plattform-Arbeiter bestehen auch bei der Unfallversicherung. Diese haben – wie alle anderen Selbstständigen auch – keinen Zugang zur gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung, auch nicht auf freiwilliger Basis. Sie können jedoch eine private Unfallversicherung abschließen. In diesem Fall muss der Plattform-Betreiber, sofern bestimmte Bedingungen erfüllt sind, die Kosten übernehmen. Dies ist dann der Fall, wenn die Plattform die Bedingungen und den Preis der Dienstleis­tungen bestimmt, wie z. B. im Fall von Uber oder Deliveroo.